New faces stepped on the winner’s podium in the Manila leg of the 41st National MILO Marathon held on July 30. Rafael Pescos ruled the men’s 42-kilometer centerpiece event, while Cinderella Lorenzo reigned on the distaff side. Pescos trailed for the most part of the race but gained ground and snatch first place with a time of 2:38:27. Erick Panique (2:43:10) and Noel Tillor (2:47:31) finished second and third, respectively.

Lorenzo, meanwhile, led from start to finish and clocked 3:16:15 to clinch first place. She was followed by Lany Cardon (3:23:38) and Lizane Abella (3:29:48). Besides taking home the P50,000 cash prize, Pescos and Lorenzo also earned berths to the national finals to be held in Cebu City on December 3.


Photo credit: KC Cruz